An Immigrant's Path to Entrepreneurship

Discussing celebrations away from family, who's hiring and much more!

Hey Fam,

As we get closer to Eid-ul-Adha, I am reminded of my Eid back home. Eid-ul-Adha was always a festive occasion, a time when friends and family hosted dinners, making us want to put a little extra effort into dressing up. Our preparation for Eid mostly started a month or two in advance. My mother, sister and I would go to our favorite stores excited to get our hands on the fanciest of clothes, reveling in every moment. My brothers on the other hand would accompany their friends to find the right animal for sacrifice on the Day of Eid. I think it is safe to say that preparing for the day excited us more than the day itself, and now that I am based in Australia, a universe entirely different, I find myself baffled, confused about whether to hold on to what ‘was’ and accept what ‘is’ and between this confusion, I am always trying to find similarities between what I have now to what I once had instead of celebrating each moment as it comes, which is something almost all immigrants/ expats are guilty of doing.

As soon as you step into a new country, your search for restaurants that remind you of home, and places that are reminiscent of everything you loved back home starts, from dresses to food, nothing impresses you anymore if it does not have the taste of ‘home’ in it, which in no way do I mean is bad, but it somehow limits your ability to appreciate all the good things life as an immigrant/ expat offers — from having access to unique cuisines to meeting people from diverse background and endless opportunities to grow, it is the kind of experience you come to appreciate over time, and I reckon it is something I am realising slowly.

Yes, Eid is not how it used to be, but then again, no one said it could only be celebrated in one way. When I started writing, my editors fancied a phrase, which now seems to give me clarity in a lot of different situations. They said, “There is always a better way to write. If a sentence does not sound right, write it differently.” Similarly, if something does not feel right, find something that does. Let go of feelings that keep you a hostage of the past, embracing life as it is as you make new memories to relish and look back to over the years.

You can be at work and still have the best Eid. Take out your favorite clothes, if not new, dress up like you would for this occasion back home, and introduce your culture to your colleagues. If not, you could also host dinners for your new friends, and invite them over to your place. Perhaps, decorate your space and have a theme for the occasion to celebrate with the people you have now. That’s how we co-exist, and that’s how we find true beauty in celebrating diversity in my opinion.

If you are here because of the recently added ‘who’s hiring’ section, jump to the next section of the issue.

The Achiever’s Spotlight: Ambreen 

This week’s spotlight is on Ambreen, a rebel at heart who strives to make a positive change in the world of education, especially for children. Let’s find out more about her journey as an immigrant living in Sydney, Australia and her transition to entrepreneurship.

1 - Where are you originally from?

I was born and raised in Karachi, Pakistan.

2- When did you move to Australia? 

I moved to Australia in 2010.

3- Hi Ambreen, it is lovely to meet you! Please introduce us to your world. Who is Ambreen, exactly? What defines her? What makes her happy or… sad?

Lovely to meet you as well 😊! I'm Ambreen, a proud mother of two amazing girls and a lifelong learner. My journey in education spans over 20 years, and my life has been deeply influenced by my mother, a dedicated teacher. From an early age, I was drawn to both teaching and entrepreneurship. At 15, I started Reens Writing Club with my siblings, marking the beginning of an exciting entrepreneurial path that combined my love for education and business.

In 2020, I founded The FunFox Program, an education company dedicated to creating a nurturing and engaging learning environment for children. Our goal is to help kids build essential skills while fostering a love for learning.

Outside of my professional life, I am an avid baker and love hosting fun parties, often driving my husband and kids mad with my enthusiasm! I cherish quality time with my family, whether it’s exploring new places or simply enjoying a cozy movie night at home.

What defines me is my passion for making a positive impact through education and my unwavering commitment to my family. I believe in creating opportunities for children to learn in a fun and supportive environment, something I strive to achieve with FunFox. Happiness for me comes from seeing my daughters thrive, watching my students grow, and knowing that I am making a difference.

4- Your move to Australia was almost a decade ago. How has that turned out for you?

Moving to Australia has been a transformative experience, better than I ever imagined. My husband, Mushkoor, and I were the first in our family to move here. The early days were challenging, but the community welcomed us with open arms. We've found opportunities here that we might not have had elsewhere, made lifelong friends, and our daughters, Maliha and Amyra, are thriving in school. Australia has truly become our home.'

5- What’s a typical day in Ambreen’s life like now?

Busy, busy, busy! On a typical day, you'll find me juggling my roles as a mum and a business owner. My mornings start early with getting my two girls ready for school, packing their lunches, and dropping them off. By 9:30 am, I'm diving into my workday at FunFox. My schedule is pretty full-on until about 8 pm most days.

My day at FunFox involves a mix of activities: meeting with our dedicated teachers, guiding them on class strategies, getting debriefs on student progress, engaging with parents, and reviewing digital content. I spend a significant amount of time reviewing lesson plans and PowerPoints, checking student work, and teaching classes. Each task is crucial to ensuring our programs run smoothly and effectively cater to our students' needs.

Once my workday ends, I switch back to my most cherished role: spending time with my girls. We usually enjoy dinner together, followed by some family time until 9:30 pm when I tuck them into bed.

Lately, I’ve found a new way to unwind and cherish some alone time with my husband. We love driving around and exploring different dessert places at night. It's our little escape, and I really cherish these moments of connection and relaxation amidst our busy lives.

6- You seem to have pretty much settled here in Australia. What were your early days like?

When I first moved to Australia, my days were quite different and filled with a mix of challenges and opportunities. I attended university and tutored three days a week to make ends meet. Interestingly, on the very day I landed, we met a friend of my husband who mentioned I was a qualified teacher. She immediately connected me with Shruti, the owner of a local tutoring center. After I sent my CV and did a demo lesson, Shruti offered me a job on the spot!

This immediate opportunity was both exciting and a bit overwhelming. We had planned to go out for halwa puri breakfast (A traditional Pakistani breakfast) that first Saturday, but I ended up starting work instead. While I was grateful to find a job so quickly, it was also a bit uncomfortable diving into work immediately without a moment to settle in.

In those early days, I juggled university classes and tutoring sessions, often feeling overworked but incredibly thankful to have employment. Being newly married, my husband and I would explore new places to eat and try different cuisines whenever we had a moment. Money was tight, and the balance between work and study was exhausting, but these experiences helped us adapt to our new life.

Navigating a new country was not easy. Making friends and building a support network took time, and there were moments of loneliness and uncertainty. Yet, every small victory, like securing that tutoring job, reinforced our belief that we could build a successful life here. It was a period of immense growth, resilience, and adaptation.

7- Would you say moving to Australia has shaped you into becoming who you are today?

Absolutely! Moving to a new country has profoundly shaped who I am today. When I first arrived in Australia, the initial couple of years were the hardest. I had to leave behind everything familiar—family, friends, and a comfortable support system—and start from scratch. Making friends was a challenge, and figuring out how things worked in a new place was daunting.

One of the most impactful experiences was joining support groups like Soul Sisters Australia on Facebook. These groups provided a sense of community, but not everyone I met was the right fit. Navigating these social dynamics taught me patience and the importance of finding the right people who truly understand your journey.

Living in a new country has made me more empathetic and open-minded. For example, back in Pakistan, I was surrounded by people with similar backgrounds and experiences. Here, I encountered a diverse range of people with different stories and struggles. This exposure has broadened my perspective and made me more understanding of others’ challenges.

Navigating life independently without the usual guidance was another eye-opener. Back home, I always had someone to guide me—family, friends, or colleagues. In Australia, I had to figure things out on my own, from understanding the healthcare system to navigating public transport. This independence was challenging but incredibly empowering.

These experiences have not only shaped my personality but also influenced my professional journey. They have instilled in me a deep appreciation for the opportunities I have and a commitment to creating supportive, engaging learning environments through FunFox. Moving to Australia was undoubtedly challenging, but it has made me a stronger, more empathetic, and resourceful individual.

8- Appreciate the perspective, Ambreen! You do become more accepting of people once you co-exist with people from all over the world. Tell us a little about your educational background.

My educational journey began in Pakistan, where I completed my undergraduate degree in English Literature and earned a bachelor’s in education from NDIE. These qualifications laid the foundation for my career in teaching. After moving to Australia, I continued to upskill by pursuing a degree in Educational Leadership and a Master's in Teaching English (TESOL). These advanced degrees have equipped me with the skills to effectively support diverse learners and lead educational initiatives like The FunFox Program.

9- Why did you become a teacher? Was that the dream growing up?

Becoming a teacher was indeed my dream from a young age. Inspired by my mother, a dedicated teacher, I discovered my calling early on. After finishing my A 'Levels, I started teaching at my mother’s tutoring center, and my classes quickly became very popular. The positive feedback and the success of my students highlighted how naturally teaching came to me. Realizing my aptitude and passion for this profession, I decided to pursue formal training to enhance my skills.

Knowing I would move to Australia, I wanted to ensure I was well-prepared for the educational landscape there. Teaching has always been more than a job to me; it’s a passion and a natural extension of who I am. This intrinsic motivation and natural ability have driven me to continuously improve and innovate in my teaching methods.

10- I love what you are doing at FunFox. Tell us a little about your amazing venture. How did that idea come about?

Thank you for your kind words! FunFox is an education company focused on early learning, offering small-group classes designed to help children excel at primary school and beyond. Our programs, Writers Club and Readers Club support children aged 6-12 in building essential language skills, creative confidence, and a love for reading and writing.

The inspiration for FunFox came from two main sources. First, my mother's profound influence as a career teacher instilled in me a deep appreciation for education and its transformative power.

Second, my journey as a migrant parent in Australia played a crucial role in shaping FunFox. When we moved here, I faced the challenge of finding suitable reading and writing programs for my daughter, Maliha. I quickly noticed that many existing programs were more focused on quick fixes and exam preparation rather than genuinely engaging students in the learning process. There was a lack of options that prioritised making learning enjoyable and fostering a deep, lasting interest in reading and writing.

Recognizing this gap, I was driven to create FunFox, a program that combines academic excellence with a nurturing and engaging approach. Our curriculum is designed to be interactive and enjoyable, making learning a joyful experience rather than a stressful one.

At FunFox, we believe that every child deserves an education that is both effective and enjoyable. By focusing on fun, interactive, and meaningful learning experiences, we strive to cultivate a love for learning that will last a lifetime. This mission is deeply personal to me, as I want to ensure that all children have access to the quality education they deserve, helping them build confidence and achieve their full potential.

11- You sound like someone who aspires to be – or is a change-maker. Introduce us to that aspect of your personality.

I am a rebel at heart. I find it challenging to follow rules that don't make sense to me. This has been both a blessing and a curse. I often shake things up to ensure they align with my vision.

12- How has transitioning to entrepreneurship turned out for you?

Transitioning to entrepreneurship has been both rewarding and challenging. As a perfectionist, I strive for things to run smoothly, which isn't always the case. I remind myself of the FunFox mantra: progress over perfection. This keeps us moving forward and prevents us from getting stuck in one place.

13- Is there anything you would do differently if you were to start again?

If I were to start again, I wouldn't change a thing. Every step of my journey, including the challenges and setbacks, has been invaluable. Starting this venture with my siblings has been particularly rewarding; their support and collaboration have been crucial to our success.

14- What is your biggest learning in life, especially after moving to Australia?

The biggest lesson I've learned is to give yourself time. Everything will happen in its own time. It’s important to have grace and realistic expectations for yourself. Patience is key, and you will get there eventually.

15- What, according to Ambreen, does the future hold for her as an educator and educationist?

As an educator, my goal is to impact the lives of as many children as possible. I want to show them that learning can be fun and help lay a solid foundation for their future. By fostering a love for learning and developing essential skills, I aim to prepare them not only for academic success but also for life.

As an educationist, my role extends beyond the classroom. I aim to guide parents on how to lead their children towards success. Every parent wants their child to be happy, healthy, and successful. My mission is to help parents build strong, positive relationships with their children while ensuring they grow up without undue stress. Often, in the pursuit of success, parents can inadvertently add pressure that affects their child's well-being. I want to help parents navigate this journey effectively, ensuring their children grow up happy, healthy, and well-balanced.

In both roles, my ultimate aim is to create a nurturing environment where children can thrive, and parents feel supported. This holistic approach ensures that we are not only educating children but also empowering families to contribute positively to their growth and development.

Thank you so much for answering these questions! Have a good day!

Share Your Story

Enjoyed reading today’s story and want a fellow expat/ immigrant to learn from your journey? Share your story in response to this email, and I would be happy to feature it in the next issue of The Achievers.

Who is Hiring This Week?

Quote of the Week

“You will never feel 100 percent ready to start. You just need to start.”

– Noah Kagan

And that’s a wrap.

If you enjoyed reading today’s issue, I would love to hear from you. Feel free to say hi to me and share your feedback in response to this email.

Know a friend who would appreciate being a part of The Achievers? Don’t forget to share it with them.

See you next week!