Navigating Expat Life in Adelaide

The Ordinary Girl Reveals Her Sweet Sanctuary Abroad!

It was a regular Saturday morning when Mehwesh and I decided to meet at Rundle Street after our brief interaction online. What started as a chaotic morning, thanks to my Uber rides getting canceled twice, meeting her was a pleasant surprise.

She showed up donning a gorgeous Pakistani-style outfit, and I couldn’t feel more at home, seeing someone casually and oh-so-confidently dressed in a Kurti even after living in Australia for 6 years.

She looked like she’d embraced her life in Australia wholeheartedly but still fancied her Pakistani heritage, and I couldn’t help but wonder if the expat life was all about finding the balance between your past and present self.

We talked for an hour and a half, discussing the wonders of expat life, and where we were in our journeys. While I was still new and pretty much stuck in the past, she definitely seemed more settled and at peace, celebrating the ordinariness of expat life, as she would like to say it.

… and for that very reason, this week’s issue of The Achievers is dedicated to The Ordinary Girl, and her beautifully empowering story of settling into a foreign country!

***

Thank you so much for joining me and being a part of our interview series! I am super excited to feature your journey in this week’s issue!

Mehwesh: You’re welcome!

Before we move to the actual interview, I’d like you to answer some general questions about yourself:

1- Where are you originally from?

I am originally from Pakistan, but I was born and raised in different cities. I was born in Hyderabad, went to school in Rawalpindi, and did my master's from the University of Karachi.

2- When did you move to Australia?

We moved in June of 2017.  

Now, here’s a list of 13 questions I’d like you to answer for us to get to know you and your journey better.

1) Hi Mehwesh, it is lovely to meet you! Please introduce us to your world, who is Mehwesh exactly?   

“Just an ordinary girl, living an ordinary but satisfying life!” I am currently working full-time as a pricing officer in a company that makes construction equipment and, on my blog, part-time, where I share my thoughts and snippets of my life.

Mostly analytical about everything but also a bit creative; I am married to a photographer who gives wings to my little creative side. I am disciplined, punctual, and love a good routine, though I wouldn’t consider myself overly ambitious. You can call me a foodie who prefers desi food over everything else! 

Mehwesh is a Desi at heart who is terrible at small talk and typically awkward at social gatherings because of her introverted personality. Oh, and yes, Mehwesh is definitely, a chai-holic! 

2) How has expat life changed you over the years? Who is Mehwesh now?

I have been living an expat life since 2009, when we moved to Malaysia and eventually to Australia. Both these experiences have greatly changed me for the better. I have learned a lot about other cultures and traditions while also learning about my own. I can now answer anything and everything about my culture.

Expat life has enabled me to see the good and bad side of both the life I left behind and the life I am living now. It has given me the opportunity to live life on my terms and the freedom to select the best from both worlds. This is very empowering, and it’s an opportunity that I will always cherish and be grateful for.

Mehwesh is now empathetic, culturally aware, open to change, and brave.

3) Beautifully explained! Your audience also knows you as The Ordinary Girl. Why is that?

When I discovered the wonderful world of blogging, I wanted to write behind a faceless/ pseudo account. I couldn’t think of a name that would better suit what I truly feel about myself. I wanted to be someone who could celebrate having a cup of chai on an ordinary day. Even though the blog did not turn out as I had imagined, I kept the name, added a face, too, and continued to use it for the tiny space I occupy on the internet as The Ordinary Girl.

4) Can you share a bit about your expat journey? When did you decide you’d move to Australia and why?

When we were living in Malaysia, frequent travel due to work or leisure was a challenge because of the complexities of visas. Visiting our siblings in different countries was such a difficult task. Being on a work visa in Malaysia felt somewhat binding and restrictive. In 2015, we visited Australia to explore the possibility of living here, and we fell in love. Soon after, we initiated the immigration process and moved here in 2017.

5) Why Adelaide?

Initially, it was not a choice; we were approved for regional migration, and among all the options available, most people we knew lived in Adelaide.

Now, it is a very conscious choice. It took us a while to love and call this city home. Adelaide offers me everything that I need at the moment: work, work-life balance, friends, peace of mind, hills, beaches, forests, little cute cafes, halal stores, an easy-to-navigate city, and friendly people. I can’t think of a reason to leave all this and start a new life in a different city for now.

6) What advice would you give to new migrants coming to Australia, specifically Adelaide?   

Everyone’s journey is different, so no ONE advice really fits all. I would say to move here with an open mind and heart, with the awareness that you are starting a new life in a new country, which will be daunting sometimes. All the immigrants you see, and meet have gone through different phases. We all have been scared, lonely, anxious, and helpless, but we have pulled through, and you will do it too!

I suggest fellow expats not to compare their lives and achievements with anyone!

7) Migrants seem to struggle to find their first gig. Tell us, how did you land your first role?

I worked on my LinkedIn profile long before I moved here. I started following Adelaide-based companies where I could potentially land a job. I also looked at people who worked in those companies to see if I could reach out to anyone. Adelaide is a small city, and it is a good idea to network and meet people from a similar industry—not expecting them to get you a job but just to get advice and suggestions.

I met some professionals and took suggestions on how to write my CV better. I understood the terms used here and replaced those in my CV and cover letter. For example, account managers in Malaysia were called business development managers, and targets were called budgets.

I landed my first role by finding a person through LinkedIn with whom I had a common connection. I reached out to him, and he helped me get a meeting with the stakeholders. It was also a matter of having the right CV and reaching the right person at the right time—a combination of both, luck and relevant experience. I accepted the job offer without any negotiations. The salary was really low, but I was getting my foot in the industry, and that was important.

It is also important to mention that I received hundreds of rejections before finding the job—rejected for roles that suited me more and better matched my skills and experience. But at the end of the day, you need one job, and that is what matters—not the rejections.

8) What was your first job in Australia?

I was a Pricing Manager for a family-owned South Australian business.  

9) Now, you seem to have achieved impressive success in your professional career. Is there a secret to hitting such a milestone in Australia?

I don’t really call it an impressive success, but I am at a comfortable place. There is no secret. I have had my share of bad experiences; you can’t skip chapters in life. There were days when I came home from work and cried, and I had nights when I woke up grinding my teeth due to stress.

One thing that has helped me is smartly assessing when to hold on and when to let go.

I came here on a 489 visa, and one of the requirements for PR was one year of work experience. So, I stretched my work even when I was miserable to ensure that at least I met this one condition. Once the condition was met, I was at peace. I let go when I was somewhat financially secure as well.

I took a break of 10 months and enrolled in a diploma program in Project Management to see if that would help me land a better job or aid in a beneficial career switch. The break was refreshing, and even though I got a job later in pricing, it was good to have an additional skill and the inclusion of an Australian Institute on my resume.

10) For new expats who have recently moved to Australia, what do you recommend they focus on in their first three months, especially those looking to enter the workforce?

Be patient when finding a job. Apply for relevant positions and tailor your CV and cover letter for each application. Expect rejections, and don’t take them personally at all.

Don’t spend all your time on job hunting. Dedicate a few hours a day, then focus on doing something else that is productive and refreshing—cook something, watch a movie, go for a walk, explore your city. Afterward, start again with a fresh mind. When we are tired and anxious, we end up making mistakes in applications, becoming complacent, and sending the same CV and cover letter over and over, thereby limiting our chances of landing the gig.

11) What is your idea of a side hustle? What do you recommend people should consider when wanting to start a side hustle or a side business?

I would encourage them to do things they love to do as a side hustle so that it doesn’t drain or tire them. The beauty of living in Australia is that once settled, you can choose to work full-time or part-time or 4 days a week and then focus on your side hustle or business. I know many Australians who do that.

12) Can you think of a few examples of a side hustle/ business you might want to recommend?

Yes, starting a bakery could be a good idea. Maybe start small, introduce your customers to a few items and gradually scale it. You could also start a food business or salon and promote it on your socials. I have come across some people who manage socials for small business owners as a side hustle. Some help in bookkeeping. Gardening, cleaning, and UberEATS are also a few ways that can help you make some cash on the side while you work on your main gig.

13) Lastly, what’s one piece of advice you’d give to the expats dealing with homesickness, depression, and identity crisis?

It is absolutely normal to experience these feelings. To this day, I feel homesick for a home that I left more than a decade ago. I miss my people, the clothes, the shopping, the food, and all the craziness I loved back home. It is absolutely normal to feel this way. While you know that you should be grateful for this new life and experiences, it is still alright to miss the life you once lived. But, if you have chosen this life, then you need to find ways to get over these bouts. Find out what makes you happy— is it calling a friend or going out for a walk? Do you feel at peace talking to someone? Or does watching a movie, eating something yummy, or just crying it out settle your mood? Find out what works for you and do whatever it takes to find happiness and peace again.

Remember, it is really tough in the beginning, but trust me, it gets easier when you have a job or a hobby that occupies you and one or two good friends to hang out with.

That was quite motivating! Where can people find you and learn more about your journey? (You can share your Instagram handle, LinkedIn profile, or website.

My Instagram. It is the tiny corner of the internet that’s all about celebrating the little things in life!

Beautiful! Thank you for your in-depth take on the expat life and for sharing your journey with us, Mehwesh! It was lovely catching up with you.

Mehwesh: Thank you for having me, see you soon :)

My Favorite Book (This Week)

Feel-Good Productivity by Ali Abdaal

Do you ever feel guilty of lazily sitting on the couch, playing your favorite games? Ali Abdaal shares his experiments, studies, and findings about the productivity we've all been so obsessed with in his New York bestseller book, Feel-Good Productivity. I love this book, especially because I am at the stage of my life where I prefer enjoying my journey more than reaching my destination, and so far, the book resonates with me!

If you liked reading today’s issue, don’t forget to share it with a friend who’d appreciate being part of our community!

See you next week!